Jump to Navigation
Phone: 410-377-2966  

Shopping cart

0 Items $0.00

Event Details

David Kessler: Finding Meaning: The Sixth Stage of Grief

Bird in Hand and What’s Your Grief are pleased to welcome David Kessler, Litsa Williams, and Eleanor Haley for a conversation around Kessler’s new book, Finding Meaning: The Sixth Stage of Grief. To purchase tickets click here!

In 1969, Elisabeth Kübler Ross first identified the stages of dying in her transformative book On Death and Dying. Decades later, she and David Kessler wrote the classic On Grief and Grieving, introducing the stages of grief with the same transformative pragmatism and compassion. For most of his professional career, Kessler taught physicians, nurses, counselors, police, and first responders about end of life, trauma, and grief, as well as leading talks and retreats for those experiencing grief. Despite his knowledge as a ‘grief expert’, Kessler could never have been prepared for the sudden death of his twenty-one year old son. Following his loss, Kessler found himself in territory that moved beyond the often referenced ‘five stages’. He found himself seeking meaning in his life, ultimately leading him to identify what he has come to call the 6th stage of grief – finding meaning.

Litsa Williams MA, LCSW-C and Eleanor Haley, MS are the mental health professionals behind the online grief community What’s Your Grief. While working with individuals and families coping with unexpected and traumatic losses in Baltimore, Williams and Haley founded What’s Your Grief as an online support space to supplement traditional grief support. The site quickly grew from a small blog to an online grief community with millions of visitors each year. The site provides grief support to individuals coping with loss, as well as grief education for therapists, social workers, and grief counselors.

Many people believe they must seek “closure” after a loss. In his new book, Kessler suggests instead that finding meaning can transform grief into a more peaceful and hopeful experience. Please join us to hear Williams, Haley, and Kessler discuss grief and meaning-making through their personal and professional lenses.

Each ticket for this event includes a hardcover copy of the newly released Finding Meaning: The Sixth Stage of Grief and light fare. Beer and wine will be available for purchase. Click here to purchase your ticket.

*Ticketholders for this event are invited back for a free “book club” event on January 14, 2020 at the What's Your Grief office to discuss clinical applications of the book with Williams and Haley. 1.5 CEUs will be available for those who attend the book club on January 14, 2020.* 






Event Details

Wednesday, November 20, 2019 - 7:00pm


2718 N. Calvert St., #1

by Dr. Radut